Everything You Need to Know About the Seven Chakras Part 2 of 8 Series:  The Root Chakra

Everything You Need to Know About the Seven Chakras Part 2 of 8 Series: The Root Chakra

Posted by Jolie DeMarco on Apr 8th 2018

Root Chakra

The second part in our series is about the first chakra called the Root Chakra (Muladhara). This chakra is the base or foundation of all the other chakras. We will discuss where the root chakra is located, what could be happening when it's blocked, what it's like when it's open, what are the best healing stone crystals, and the beneficial essential oils for the root chakra.

As seen in the picture the root chakra is symbolized by the lotus with four petals and the color red. It's location is at the perineum or tailbone area and includes the first three vertebra. The adrenal glands, kidneys, spinal column, and leg bones are all linked to the base chakra.

Whenever the root chakra becomes blocked, there could be a variety of reasons why. Some possibilities may be fear, anger, sexuality, lust, and obsession. Physically is governs sexuality. Mentally it governs stability. Emotionally it governs sensuality, and spiritually it governs a sense of security. The blockage may cause feelings of being anxious, panic, uncertainty, and even threatened. You may not be able to concentrate, because you're constantly preoccupied with worry about yourself and your body. This chakra forms a foundation of the survival instinct and all things physical.

When the root chakra is open, the mind and body can be optimized for success. Being unblocked will make one feel secure, calm, and grounded.  You will enjoy new challenges with confidence. 

The healing stones for the root chakra are:  Red Jasper, Red Carnelian, Obsidian, Bloodstone, Ruby

Essential oils that can benefit the root chakra:

Rosewood - (antidepressant, aphrodisiac, cephalic, insecticide, analgesic, antiseptic, antibacterial)

Sandalwood - (relaxing, calming, aphrodisiac)

Black Pepper - (digestive, anti-arthritic, and antibacterial)

Cedar - (pain relief, stress)

I hope your finding this series exciting! Join in again as we continue to the third part of our series featuring the Sacral Chakra.